6 minute read

Mind Australia (Mind) is pleased to welcome four new Board members, following the recent merger with One Door Mental Health (One Door).

Professor Anthony Harris AM, Angela MacMillan, Auswell Chia and Dr Bernie Mullin joined the Mind Board on 1 January 2024.

Board Chair Professor Allan Fels AO said he was delighted to welcome four new Directors and is looking forward to the first official meeting at the end of the month.

“The new Directors bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to Mind, following their successful tenures on the One Door Board,” Professor Fels said.

“Our merger with One Door establishes one of the largest community managed mental health and wellbeing service specialists in Australia, offering a full continuum of mental health services, ranging from early intervention to complex care. 

“Our new Directors will help us to deliver on our vision to enhance the mental health and wellbeing of people, families and communities across Australia.

“Through this new Board we also strengthen our commitment to valuing the expertise and skills of people with a lived experience of mental health challenges. The new Board will have a constitutional requirement for a minimum of two people with lived experience, bringing both consumer and carer perspectives, and a commitment to pursue a goal of 50% of members with a lived experience.

“We are very pleased that with this new Board we are well on our way to meeting these commitments, with at least six people on our Board identifying as having a personal or family/carer lived experience.”

Professor Harris will join the Board as a co-deputy Chair. A psychiatrist and academic, Professor Harris was recently appointed a Member of the Order of Australia during the Australia Day honours for his significant service to mental health and dedication to making a positive impact for people experiencing mental health challenges. Anthony has been a member of the One Door Board for over 20 years.

Dr Bernie Mullin is a Public Health Physician, working in health system transformation and is experienced in implementing evidence-based programs. With her partner, they care for their daughter who lives with schizophrenia. 

Angela MacMillan comes to the board with a strong background in advocacy, strategic development, and organisational governance. Angela is the Customer Advocate of a major Australian bank with a mandate to address and prevent poor customer outcomes and is passionate about advocating for people in vulnerable circumstances.

Auswell Chia is a seasoned management consultant who partners with C-Suite executives and executive teams across multiple sectors, including banking, wealth management, and asset management. He specialises in reinventing business and operating models through digital transformation, with a focus on creating differentiated customer and employee experiences, sustainable competitive agility, and long-term shareholder value.

Deputy Chair Ruth Picker recently resigned from the Mind Board due to other commitments.

“I’d like to thank Ruth for her involvement in the Board over the past two years. Ruth was a fantastic Deputy Chair, contributing her financial rigour and risk management skills to the organisation,” Professor Fels said.

The Mind Board of Directors are:

  • Professor Allan Fels AO – Chair
  • Professor Anthony Harris – Co-Deputy Chair
  • Vacant – Co-Deputy Chair
  • Jeremy Coggin
  • Leilani Darwin
  • Teresa Fels
  • Dr Margaret Grigg
  • Erandathie Jayakody
  • Dr Bernie Mullin
  • Angela MacMillan
  • Auswell Chia

The new Board will meet for the first time on Monday, 26 February 2024 and a Co-Deputy Chair will be appointed shortly.

If this article raises concerns for you, please call Lifeline on 13 11 14. Aboriginal and Torres Straits Islanders can also call 13 YARN (13 92 76) a 24/7 national crisis support telephone service staffed by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. 
If you would like more information, please contact us.

1300 286 463 
[email protected]